Early Years and Nursery

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

In our nursery/pre-school class and 3 reception classes we follow the statutory framework for the early years. We have the aim of creating independent, curious and creative learners. The children will have the opportunity to develop the characteristics of effective learning. This is through their child-led play and learning, adult initiated and adult-led learning. The characteristics are embedded through our planning and provision.

The three characteristics of effective learning are:

Playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’.

Active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties and enjoy achievements.

Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

The curriculum is planned to ensure all children develop within the three prime and four specific areas of learning as set out below:

The prime areas are:

Communication and language

Physical development

Personal, social and emotional development

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

The specific areas are:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design

Literacy involves developing a love of sharing and reading books and encouraging children to link sounds and letters to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

You must consent to the use of advertising cookies to allow this YouTube video to show.